The Top of the Ocean, an iconic restaurant built on pilings but looking like a boat, ruled the Tacoma waterfront 31 years-- from its opening on Dec. 7, 1946, until it was destroyed by an arson fire April 3, 1977.
Dedicated October 28, 2007,
to those with fond memories
of a unique gathering place.
Paul R. Michaels, artist/sculptor
Griselda "Babe" Lehrer, chair/fundraising
Marie Hayden, treasurer
Pierce County Councilmember Shawn Bunney Pierce County Councilmember Tim Farrell
City of Tacoma
Tacoma Historical Society
Tacoma Public Library
Tacoma Athletic Commission
And hundreds of interested citizens
For this gift to the City of Tacoma
The monument is sited on the public dock next to the Silver Cloud Inn.
The street address is 2217 Ruston Way.