The Society recognizes outstanding contributions to the history of Tacoma through several distinguished awards.

Murray Morgan Award

Blaine Johnson is the 2018 Murray Morgan Award recipient. The award particularly highlighted Johnson’s work in documenting Tacoma’s rich theater history, resulting in the 2017 publication of "Now Playing: Showtime in Tacoma," which he co-authored with Brian Kamens.

Tacoma Historical Society's Murray Morgan Award recognizes individuals and organizations that have significantly contributed to efforts to preserve and communicate local history. Murray C. Morgan (1916-2000) was an eminent Tacoma author, journalist, teacher and historian.

  • 2017 - Michael Sullivan
  • 2016 - Russell H. Holter
  • 2015 - C. Mark Smith
  • 2014 - Dr. Jerry V. Ramsey
  • 2013 - Charles R. (Chuck) Fowler
  • 2012 - Thomas R. Stenger
  • 2011 - Deb Freedman
  • 2010 - Paul R. Michaels
  • 2009 - Roger Cushman Edwards
  • 2008 - Karla Wakefield Stover
  • 2007 - Ralph Decker
  • 2006 - Marie Hayden
  • 2005 - Dorothy “Dode” Trip
  • 2004 - Jim Fredrickson
  • 2003 - Charlotte Medlock
  • 2002 - Caroline Denyer Gallacci and Ron Karabaich
  • 2001 - Brian G. Kamens
  • 2000 - Tacoma-Pierce County Genealogical Society
  • 1999 - Robert Tschida
  • 1998 - Cecelia Svinth Carpenter
  • 1997 - Gary Fuller Reese
  • 1996 - Dr. Ronald E. Magden
  • 1995 - Ottilie Markholt
  • 1994 - Caroline Kellogg
  • 1993 - Winnifred L. Olsen
  • 1992 - Murray C. Morgan

Alan C. Liddle Award

The 2018 recipient is Jeffrey J. Ryan, recognized for his body of work, most recently his role in having the Cushman substation in Tacoma’s North End added to the city’s historic register.

Tacoma Historical Society's Alan C. Liddle Award recognizes individuals and organizations that have significantly contributed to the preservation of Tacoma's historic structures.  Alan C. Liddle (1922-2009) was a highly regarded architect who provided a strong voice for the arts and for historic preservation in his native city.

  • 2017 - Knights of Pythias, Commencement Lodge No.7
  • 2016 - James R. Merritt
  • 2015 - David Burns
  • 2014 - Robert Schuler
  • 2013 - Dawn Lucien, James E. Hoard and Dennis Flannigan
  • 2012 - August Gene Grulich
  • 2011 - L.T. Murray Jr. (2011)
  • 2010 - Linda Bowman and Kathryn VanWagenen
  • 2009 - Robert W. Evans
  • 2008 - Alan C. Liddle and Patricia Sias
Star of Destiny

Star of Destiny

Star of Destiny Award

The 2018 Star of Destiny Award recipients are: Fred Roberson, for his work to preserve, protect, and energize many historic Tacoma buildings; and Clare Petrich, for her extensive public service and ongoing commitment to civic engagement for the public good.

When it is deemed appropriate, Tacoma Historical Society recognizes notable accomplishments with its Star of Destiny Award.  The Star of Destiny - 120 statements about Tacoma's advantages - was created by developer Allen C. Mason (1855-1920) and designed by engineer L.A. Nicholson. Mason used the Start of Destiny in newspaper advertising around the country.

  • 2017 - Recognizing Laurie Jinkins for her unwavering support for social justice and human rights for all people regardless of circumstance. Recognizing James Walton for his exemplary service as Tacoma city manager and all of his ongoing commitment to civic engagement for the public good.
  • 2016 - Recognizing Michael Cohen for his vision and steadfast perseverance in transforming one of the most toxic waste sites in the country into the extraordinary urban village that is Point Ruston. Recognizing Karen Larkin for her years of exceptional public service for the City of Tacoma and for her leadership in the transformation and cleanup of the polluted Foss Waterway.
  • 2015 - Recognizing Ken Still for a remarkable career as a professional golfer and his role as an ambassador for his native city.
  • 2015 - Recognizing Patty Rose for her unwavering commitment to the dignity and welfare of the working men and women of Tacoma and Pierce County.
  • 2014 - Recognizing the Hon. Norm Dicks, for legislative achievement in behalf of Pierce County.
  • 2013 - Recognizing Stan Naccarato and Doug McArthura for a lifetime of promoting sports events for the benefit of all Tacoma.
  • 2013 - Certificate of Achievement recognizing J.N. Nerheim for painstakingly documenting the history of Tacoma's Old Town and its lumber mills.
  • 2012 - Recognizing Ron Karabaich for his many contributions to the society and the cause of local history.
  • 2011 - Recognizing Digestive Health Specialists for achievement in promoting local history (by displaying historic Tacoma photos). Recognizing Timothy Pinckney for rescuing artifacts from the historic Luzon Building, lamentably demolished in 2009


— back to top —