Tacoma Historical Society

Mission: Tacoma Historical Society preserves, presents, and promotes Tacoma's history. Vision: Generations connected by the many stories of our city's past.

Members of Tacoma Historical Society and its museum forge connections between past and present by collecting, documenting and sharing the unique history of our city.  Our focus is on history and artifacts related to Tacoma’s past from the period immediately preceding the location of the Delin Mill on Tacoma’s waterfront in 1852 up to the significant events of the present day.  Tacoma Historical Society is a volunteer-driven 501(c)3 charitable nonprofit corporation.


Board of Directors

The Board of Directors of Tacoma Historical Society meets at 6:30 pm, typically on the first Tuesday of each month. Members and friends of Tacoma history are invited to attend and share their ideas and comments.


President Dr. William H. Baarsma
Vice-President Dr. Dale R. Wirsing
Secretary Kim McDowell
Treasurer Deb Freedman
  Owen Atkins
  Kellie Bennett
  Michael Buchanan
  Holland Cohen
  Genie Jefferson
  Rusty Johnson
  Andrew Kouklis
  Brian Skiffington
  Susan Warner
  John Washington
  Debbie Winskill




Managing Director Michael Lafreniere
Communications Manager Kim Davenport
Curator Brendan Balaam
Registrar Angela Caldwell
Museum Assistant Sarah Johnson


— back to top —