Historical Society Presents Annual Honors

Posted: Apr 14, 2021

Tacoma Historical Society, marking its 31st year, has honored a local author, a heritage organization, and an exceptional volunteer with its 2021 awards.

Tamiko Nimura received the society’s Murray Morgan Award for her research and writing that led to her 2020 biography of civil rights champion Rosa Franklin and her 2021 book, “We Hereby Refuse: Japanese American Resistance to Wartime Incarceration.”

The society’s Alan C. Liddle Award went to a kindred heritage organization, Historic Tacoma, for its role in highlighting and advocating for Tacoma’s treasury of historic architecture. Kathleen Brooker accepted the award on behalf of Historic Tacoma.

Recognizing her exceptional volunteer service, Shelly Waldron received the Ronald E. Magden award.

View the virtual awards presentations here:



— back to top —