THS Awards Honors

Posted: Apr 12, 2018
Local historian Blaine Johnson and architect Jeffrey J. Ryan were honored April 9 by Tacoma Historical Society for their roles in presenting and conserving the city's history.

The presentations were made at the society's 28th anniversary meeting, held at the University of Puget Sound on April 9, 2018.

Johnson received the society’s 2018 Murray Morgan Award for significant efforts to preserve and communicate local history. The award particularly highlighted Johnson’s work in documenting Tacoma’s rich theater history, resulting in the 2017 publication of “Now Playing: Showtime in Tacoma,” which he co-authored with Brian Kamens.

The society’s 2018 Alan C. Liddle Award, which recognizes historic preservation efforts and advocacy, was presented to Ryan for his body of work, most recently his role in having the Cushman substation in Tacoma’s North End added to the city’s historic register.

— back to top —